Countries You Can Travel VISA-FREE with a UK Visa

Having a valid UK visa unlocks visa-free access or visas on arrival for many countries around the world. With a UK visa like a tourist, student or work visa, you can enter numerous countries without needing to arrange visas in advance.

This guide explores all the countries you can visit visa-free or obtain visas on arrival with a valid UK visa and the conditions for traveling to each one.


Most European countries allow visa-free travel or visas on arrival for UK visa holders thanks to the UK’s EU membership. You can visit these European nations visa-free:

Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Republic of Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

The normal permitted stay is 90 days in any 180-day period. Some countries still have restrictions on accessing their labor markets or require visas for long-term stays.

Outside the EU, those with UK visas can also travel visa-free to:

Albania, Andorra, Bosnia and Herzegovina, North Macedonia, Moldova, Monaco, Montenegro, San Marino, Serbia, and Vatican City.

The maximum stay is typically 90 days unless agreements state otherwise.

North America and Caribbean

UK visa holders can visit these North American and Caribbean destinations visa-free:

Canada, United States, Mexico, Jamaica, Barbados, Dominica, Grenada, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Montserrat, Turks and Caicos Islands.

Permitted lengths range from 30 days in Barbados and Grenada to 180 days in Canada.

South America

The South American countries you can enter visa-free with a UK visa are:

Guyana, Suriname (90 days), Falkland Islands, and South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands.


Those holding UK visas can travel visa-free to these Asian countries:

Armenia, Azerbaijan (e-visa), Bangladesh, Cambodia, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kazakhstan (e-visa), South Korea, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Nepal (15 days), Oman, Palestine, Philippines, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan (14 days), Timor-Leste, Uzbekistan (e-visa) and United Arab Emirates.

Duration of permitted stay varies from 14 days to 90 days maximum.


UK visa holders can visit the following Oceania nations visa-free:

Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, New Zealand, Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu.

Stays range from 30 days in Samoa to indefinite in New Zealand.


These African countries allow visa-free travel or visas on arrival for UK visa holders:

Botswana, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya (evisa), Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Rwanda (30 days), Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, and Zimbabwe.

South Africa permits visa-free entry for up to 90 days.

Beyond Tourism

This guide focused on visa-free access for tourism. However, some listed countries also allow UK visa holders to attend conferences, business meetings, or explore investment opportunities visa-free.

Check specific conditions and length of stay with each country’s embassy before traveling for work or business purposes.


Having a valid UK visa provides easy access to over 75 destinations worldwide without needing country-specific visas in advance.

Remember that permitted stay durations vary across every country. Always verify visa and passport requirements before traveling.

A UK visa unlocks spontaneous travel across continents. With visa-free access to so many countries, you can explore more of the world.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *